Logo for: The Chapel of the Cross

Diocese & The Episcopal Church

The basic unit in the Episcopal Church is a diocese. The Chapel of the Cross is part of the Diocese of North Carolina, presided over by the bishop in Raleigh.

Originally this diocese comprised the entire state of North Carolina. Later the diocese was split into three sections, the Diocese of East Carolina, the Diocese of Western North Carolina, and the central part of the state was left under the original name. All the 100 plus dioceses in the country constitute the Episcopal Church of the United States. The Episcopal Church, in turn is a member of the worldwide Anglican Communion. For additional information, visit the following websites.

Official Sites